Wanderers Confirm Retained List

Wanderers have offered new deals to striker Jon Dadi Bodvarsson and midfielder Josh Sheehan and confirmed that MJ Williams will be staying with the Whites.

Sheehan and Bodvarsson are among half-a-dozen senior players whose contracts are due to expire this summer.

Both have been offered fresh terms and the chance to extend their stay at the University of Bolton Stadium, where Sheehan has been for two years and Iceland international Bodvarsson since January, 2022.

Image removed.

Wales international Sheehan, 28, finished the season in impressive form following his return from injury, while Bodvarsson, 30, is close to regaining full fitness after recovering from the injury that curtailed his campaign early after scoring eight times up to mid-January.

Meanwhile, Williams has earned a further year’s contract after his number of appearances this season, which totalled 35 across all competitions, triggered an option within his existing deal to stay.

However, goalkeeper Joel Dixon, midfielders Kieran Lee and Lloyd Isgrove and forward Elias Kachunga will all be leaving the Whites after not being offered new contracts.

Image removed.

Isgrove and Lee both helped Ian Evatt’s side win promotion from League Two after joining Wanderers in the 2020/21 season, with Dixon and Kachunga then signing before the start of the 2021/22 campaign.

All have since played their part in helping Wanderers enjoy two highly progressive seasons in League One, with successive ninth and fifth-place finishes.

They all also featured in Wanderers’ triumphant run to Wembley and victory in April’s Papa Johns Trophy final, where Kachunga was among the goalscorers in a 4-0 win over Plymouth Argyle.

In addition, loan players James Trafford, Conor Bradley, Luke Mbete, Shola Shoretire and Dan Nlundulu return to their parent clubs following the end of their temporary stays with the Whites.

All those leaving this summer do so with the thanks and best wishes for the future of everyone connected with Wanderers.  

Image removed.

Wanderers’ squad details and retained list:

Under contract:

Aaron Morley

George Thomason

Victor Adeboyejo

Ricardo Almeida Santos

Dion Charles

Kyle Dempsey

Jack Iredale

Declan John

George Johnston

Gethin Jones

Cameron Jerome

Kieran Sadlier

Eoin Toal

MJ Williams

Randell Williams

Offered contracts:

Josh Sheehan

Jon Dadi Bodvarsson

Out of contract and released:

Joel Dixon

Lloyd Isgrove

Elias Kachunga

Kieran Lee

Loan players returning to parent club:

James Trafford

Conor Bradley

Luke Mbete

Dan Nlundulu

Shola Shoretire

Read Time: 2 mins