Vote for your favourite Wanderers goal of 2016!

The winning strike will be put forward as the Club's nomination in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards 2017

The EFL have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2016 and Bolton Wanderers are asking for your help in deciding which of the Whites' goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

The Club can nominate one goal from any EFL competition in the 2016 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet EFL, the EFL Cup and the Checkatrade Trophy. 
The Bolton media department have put together a shortlist of 12 of the best Trotters strikes from throughout the year and want fans to help decide our nomination by voting HERE.

Choose your best goal from the following strikes;
  1. Shola Ameobi v MK Dons (23/01/16)
  2. Zach Clough v Queens Park Rangers (20/02/16)
  3. Lawrie Wilson v Ipswich Town (08/03/16)
  4. Jay Spearing v Sheffield United (06/08/16)
  5. Sammy Ameobi v Millwall (18/10/16)
  6. David Wheater v Millwall (18/10/16)
  7. Zach Clough v Port Vale (29/10/16)
  8. Lawrie Wilson v Port Vale (29/10/16)
  9. Josh Vela v Millwall (19/11/16)
  10. Josh Vela v Gillingham (12/12/16)
  11. Sammy Ameobi v Gillingham (12/12/16)
  12. Josh Vela v Scunthorpe United (31/12/16)

Watch all of the Club's suggested goals above. Don't agree with our shortlist? Select other with your preferred effort instead!

Closing date is 5pm on Thursday 23 February. 

Wanderers' nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday 9 April 2017 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London.  

A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football on Five Goal Rush.  Fans will then be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at 9 April 2017. 

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday), Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about the EFL Awards please visit 

Tweets by @OfficialBWFC
Read Time: 2 mins