Voting open for December's KIA Player of the Month award

Supporters now able to cast their vote for club's monthly gong

Voting is now open for Bolton Wanderers' KIA Player of the Month award for December.

Maintaining their promotion challenge during the final month of the calendar year as the season reached its halfway point, the Whites finished 2016 second in Sky Bet League One after winning all their matches at Macron Stadium during the month.

Opening December with an Emirates FA Cup second round victory over Sheffield United (3-2), Bolton then put four past Gillingham to claim an emphatic win in front of the Sky cameras.

After losing away at Chesterfield, Phil Parkinson's men bounced back during the festive period courtesy of successive home victories over Shrewsbury Town (2-1) and Scunthorpe United (2-1) to finish the year in style.

Having won the award for November, Josh Vela carried on where he left off as he took his tally for the season to seven courtesy of strikes against the Blades, the Gills and the Irons having started every game for Bolton during the month.

Gary Madine also scored three goals during December, netting against Sheffield United before heading home a brace against Gillingham with his form also seeing him pick the PFA Fans' Sky Bet League One Player of the Month award.

Sammy Ameobi started the month with back-to-back screamers against both the Blades and the Gills, while although not on the scoresheet, Zach Clough claimed three assists throughout December.

Elsewhere, with Phil Parkinson naming an unchanged starting XI for the Trotters' five outings, David Wheater was one of four players to complete every minute for Wanderers alongside Ben Alnwick, Mark Beevers and Andrew Taylor, while he also scored a match-winning brace against Shrewsbury Town on Boxing Day.

Fans are able to register their vote by commenting on the club's official Facebook page's post HERE. Both the Club's Player of the Month and the winner of the prize draw will be notified in due course. 

Sheffield United (H) W 3-2
Gillingham (H) W 4-0
Chesterfield (A) L 1-0
Shrewsbury Town (H) W 2-1
Scunthorpe United (H) W 2-1

Ben Alnwick 5
Mark Beevers 5
Andrew Taylor 5
David Wheater 5
Gary Madine 5 
Jay Spearing 5 
Josh Vela 5 
Sammy Ameobi 5 
Tom Thorpe 5 
Lawrie Wilson 5 
Zach Clough 5 
Chris Taylor 4
Derik 3
Keshi Anderson 2
James Henry 2
Jamie Proctor 2

Gary Madine 3
Josh Vela 3
Sammy Ameobi 2
David Wheater 2
James Henry 1

Tweets by @OfficialBWFC
Read Time: 2 mins