Carabao Cup Round One draw takes place on Friday

Bolton Wanderers have been seeded for Round One of the 2017/18 Carabao Cup, with the draw being streamed live from Bangkok, Thailand on Friday 16 June at 1.00pm (UK time).

World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, Carabao CEO Sathien Setthasit, British Ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson and EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey will unveil the 35 Round One ties from the home of the competition’s title sponsor, Carabao Energy Drink. 

Fans will be able to watch the draw unfold live on various platforms, including EFL’s new live streaming platform, iFollow, on Facebook via the Carabao Cup and Carabao UK pages and

Nearly 1.5 million people went to matches in the EFL Cup last season as the competition recorded record breaking attendances. 

Victory in the competition’s final will guarantee the winner the first piece of silverware of the domestic season and a place in the Europa League in the following campaign. 

Seventy EFL Clubs will be in the draw with matches scheduled to take place week commencing 7 August, with Sunderland included. 

Championship newcomers Hull City and Middlesbrough will join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

The draw is also regionalised to minimise travelling time for supporters in the first round with seeding decided by a Club’s finishing position in the EFL.   

Seeding, regionalisation and ball numbers within seeding groups


North – Seeds

  1. Barnsley
  2. Blackburn Rovers
  3. Bolton Wanderers
  4. Bradford City
  5. Burton Albion
  6. Derby County
  7. Fleetwood Town
  8. Leeds United
  9. Nottingham Forest
  10. Preston North End
  11. Rochdale
  12. Rotherham United
  13. Scunthorpe United
  14. Sheffield United
  15. Sheffield Wednesday
  16. Sunderland
  17. Wigan Athletic


North – Non-Seeds

  1. Accrington Stanley
  2. Blackpool
  3. Bury
  4. Carlisle United
  5. Chesterfield
  6. Coventry City
  7. Crewe Alexandra
  8. Doncaster Rovers
  9. Grimsby Town
  10. Lincoln City
  11. Mansfield Town
  12. Morecambe
  13. Notts County
  14. Oldham Athletic
  15. Port Vale
  16. Shrewsbury Town
  17. Walsall


South – Seeds

  1. Aston Villa
  2. Birmingham City
  3. Brentford
  4. Bristol City
  5. Bristol Rovers
  6. Cardiff City
  7. Charlton Athletic
  8. Fulham
  9. Ipswich Town
  10. Millwall
  11. Milton Keynes Dons
  12. Norwich City
  13. Oxford United
  14. Peterborough United
  15. Queens Park Rangers
  16. Reading
  17. Southend United
  18. Wolverhampton Wanderers


South – Non-Seeds

  1. AFC Wimbledon
  2. Barnet
  3. Cambridge United
  4. Cheltenham Town
  5. Colchester United
  6. Crawley Town
  7. Exeter City
  8. Forest Green Rovers
  9. Gillingham
  10. Luton Town
  11. Newport County
  12. Northampton Town
  13. Plymouth Argyle
  14. Portsmouth
  15. Stevenage
  16. Swindon Town
  17. Wycombe Wanderers
  18. Yeovil Town
Read Time: 2 mins