2004/05 season: The Road to Europe - Mission Accomplished

Sam Allardyce’s Bolton Wanderers finished sixth in the Premier League and qualified for the UEFA Cup for the very first time in their history.bwfc.co.uk takes a look through the archives to look back on a memorable season at the then Reebok Stadium.

 A 1-1 draw against Portsmouth at Fratton Park saw Wanderers’ confirm a place in the UEFA Cup for the following season. 

Diouf had put Wanderers in front on the south coast with a fine solo effort following a defensive mix-up, only for Yakubu to snatch an equaliser.

The game against the Toffees was played in something reminiscent of a cup tie.

A memorable sub-plot ran in tandem with the game as it was also Fernando Hierro’s last appearance of his glittering career. He was duly given a standing ovation from everybody in the ground when he was substituted thus bringing the curtain down on one of Spain’s greatest ever players.

Tim Cahill had put the visitors in front with an acrobatic effort before a Radhi Jaidi header and a Kevin Davies deflected low drive got Wanderers’ noses in front. Lee Carsley drew Everton level but that didn’t last long as Stelios hit what turned out to be the winner.

When referee Matt Messias blew for time, history was made as Wanderers finished the campaign in a lofty sixth position in the Premier League as everyone looked forward to playing in Europe the following season. 


Wanderers used a total of 26 players through the campaign with Frenchman Bruno Ngotty topping the appearances charts with 41 appearances in all competitions.

Bruno Ngotty

41 (0)

Jussi Jaaskelainen

40 (0)

Gary Speed

39 (1)

Kevin Davies

38 (2)

Ricardo Gardner

34 (4)

Nicky Hunt

33 (1)

Kevin Nolan

31 (11)



Jay Jay Okocha

31 (2)

El Hadji Diouf

26 (6)

Tal Ben Haim

25 (2)

Ivan Campo

22 (8)

Radhi Jaidi

22 (7)

Fernando Hierro

21 (14)

Henrik Pedersen

17 (16)

Vincent Candela

10 (2)

Anthony Barness

6 (5)

Julio Cesar

6 (1)

Ricardo Vaz Te

3 (6)

Khalilou Fadiga

3 (5)

Kevin Poole

3 (1)

Les Ferdinand

2 (12)

Blessing Kaku

1 (2)

Andy Oakes

1 (0)

Joey O’Brien

0 (2)

Ricky Shakes

0 (1)


Top Scorers

Kevin Davies


El Hadji Diouf


Henrik Pedersen




Jay Jay Okocha



Read Time: 2 mins