Evatt Receives Promotion Award

Ian Evatt’s success in guiding Wanderers to promotion last season has been recognised by the Football Writers’ Association.

Evatt received a trophy as a special guest at the FWA Northern Manager Awards night held in Manchester.

The Bolton boss was one of eight managers from the north to be honoured for their achievements last season, along with Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Grant McCann (Hull City), Neil Critchley (Blackpool), Lee Johnson (Sunderland), Derek Adams (Morecambe) Dave Challinor (Hartlepool United) and David McNabb (Warrington Rylands).

Evatt - who led Wanderers up from League Two in his first season in charge in 2020/21 - said: “It’s not easy to win football matches, never mind promotion or some silverware.

“Congratulations to all the winners and thanks to the FWA.

“I’m lucky enough to be the face of Bolton Wanderers but this award is also for my staff, who played such an important part in last season’s success.”

Read Time: 1 mins