Santos Named In League One Line-Up

Ricardo Almeida Santos has capped an outstanding 2021/22 season by being named in the PFA League One Team of the Year.

Santos – who last month signed a new long-term deal with Wanderers – was chosen by his fellow professionals in the division’s select line-up thanks to his imperious run of performances at the heart of the Whites' defence.

Players from nine clubs were voted into the team with only champions Wigan Athletic and MK Dons – who finished third in the table before losing in the play-off semi-finals – providing more than one.

Wanderers’ captain Santos, who was also named by his Whites’ team-mates as their 2021/22 player of the year, was included in a back four alongside Wigan’s Jack Whatmough, promotion-winning Rotherham defender Michael Ihiekwe and MK Dons’ Harry Darling.

Ricardo Santos players' player.jpg

“It’s a real honour to have been chosen in this line-up,” said Santos.

“To be voted for by your fellow players is also extra special and thanks to all those who did vote for me.

“Being picked in this kind of company also shows how far we have come as a club to be challenging in the top half of League One.

“That’s huge credit to the manager, staff and the rest of the players here, who have all helped me massively. I wouldn’t have this recognition without them.

“Hopefully we’ll have more names in there next year with the squad we’ve got as we look to build on what we’ve done and mount a real challenge next season.”

PFA League One Team of the Year:

Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth), Ricardo Almeida Santos (Wanderers), Michael Ihiekwe (Rotherham United), Jack Whatmough (Wigan Athletic), Harry Darling (MK Dons); Cameron Brannagan (Oxford United), Scott Twine (MK Dons), Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday); Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Ross Stewart (Sunderland), Cole Stockton (Morecambe).

Read Time: 2 mins