First EFL Trophy Opponents Confirmed

Trophy Group graphic

Wanderers will face League Two sides Barrow and Fleetwood Town in the group stage of the Bristol Street Motors Trophy.

The full draw will be completed on Thursday afternoon when a fourth team – an U21 Premier League side – will be added to Group D in the northern section and home and away fixtures will be determined.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the knock-out stages.

Wanderers beat Barrow in the last-32 of the competition in November, 2002 on the way to lifting the trophy as Wembley winners.

Ian Evatt’s side, which last season reached the quarter-finals as holders, also beat Fleetwood in their only previous meeting in the competition – a 1-0 win in November, 2021. 

Northern Section Groups and U21 club numbers for Thursday’s full draw:

Group A

Accrington Stanley 

Stockport County

Tranmere Rovers          

Group B

Port Vale

Salford City


Group C

Carlisle United


Wigan Athletic               

Group D


Bolton Wanderers

Fleetwood Town

Group E


Crewe Alexandra 

Harrogate Town            

Group F


Doncaster Rovers

Huddersfield Town     

Group G


Grimsby Town

Lincoln City     

Group H

Bradford City

Mansfield Town

Rotherham United

U21 ball numbers:

1 Aston Villa U21

2 Everton U21

3 Liverpool U21

4 Manchester City U21

5 Manchester United U21

6 Newcastle United U21

7 Nottingham Forest U21

8 Wolverhampton Wanderers U21

Read Time: 1 mins