Retained List Confirmed

Bolton stadium

Forwards Jon Dadi Bodvarsson and Cameron Jerome will leave Wanderers when their contracts with the club expire next month.

The pair made a highly-valued contribution during their time at the Toughsheet Community Stadium and will depart with the thanks and best wishes of everyone at Wanderers.

Iceland international Bodvarsson, 31, joined the Whites from Millwall in January, 2022 and scored 25 times for Ian Evatt’s side to help secure a top-10 place in League One in his first season and then two play-off finishes and a place in the 2023 EFL Trophy final.

Jerome, 37, brought valuable know-how on and off the pitch to Wanderers in an 18-month stay which earned him an EFL Trophy winners’ medal and ended with some crucial goals to help Wanderers reach the play-offs for a second successive season before their campaign ended in the final at Wembley last weekend.


Jerome Bodvarsson celebrate

In addition, Wanderers can also confirm in their retained list to be submitted to the EFL at the end of the 2023/24 season that defender Declan John is ending his stay with the Whites.

John – who has spent the season on loan at League Two Salford City ­– also reaches the end of his existing contract this summer and will not be offered a new deal.

The left-back, 28, made a total of 92 appearances for the Whites after joining the club from Swansea City in January, 2021 in an initial loan deal which was made permanent after Evatt’s side won promotion from League Two at the end of that season.

The five players – Paris Maghoma, Nathanael Ogbeta, Zac Ashworth, Caleb Taylor and Calvin Ramsay – who ended the current campaign on loan with Wanderers have returned to their parent clubs at the completion of their loan deals. 

The remaining members of Wanderers’ first-team squad are under contract with the club for at least the 2024/25 season or beyond.

Goalkeeper Luke Hutchinson, 21, has had a clause in his contracted activated to extend his stay with the Whites, while contract options have also been activated on a number of B Team players, including midfielder Nelson Khumbeni who ended last season with a successful loan spell with Morecambe.

Elsewhere in the Academy set-up, five scholars have been offered first professional contracts following a successful season for the Youth Team which finished third in the EFL Youth Alliance.

Captain Sean Hogan earns a deal, along with goalkeeper Jack Dallimore, striker Harrison Fleury, defender Joseph Toole and midfielder James Westwood.

First Team


Victor Adeboyejo

Ricardo Almedia-Santos

Nathan Baxter

Dion Charles

Joel Coleman

Aaron Collins

Josh Dacres-Cogley

Kyle Dempsey

Will Forrester

Jack Iredale

George Johnston

Gethin Jones

Carlos Mendes-Gomes

Aaron Morley

Dan Nlundulu

Josh Sheehan

George Thomason

Eoin Toal

Randell Williams

Luke Matheson

Conor Carty


Jon Dadi Bodvarsson

Cameron Jerome

Declan John

Loans Returning

Zac Ashworth

Paris Maghoma

Nathanael Ogbeta

Calvin Ramsay

Caleb Taylor

B Team


Ben Andreucci

Trevon Bryan

Max Conway

Sam Inwood

Ellis Litherland-Riding

Andrew Tutte


Jack Flint

Finlay Lockett

Gerald Sithole

Matthew Tweedley

Lamine Toure

Eric Yoro

Options exercised 

Charlie Hayes-Green

Luke Hutchinson

Nelson Khumbeni

Yestin Shakespear

Offers made awaiting response

Wes Frimpong

Offer Accepted

Sonny Sharples-Ahmed

Noah Halford

New Professional Contracts

Jack Dallimore – 1st Year Professional

Harrison Fleury – 1st Year Professional

Sean Hogan – 1st Year Professional

Joseph Toole – 1st Year Professional

James Westwood – 1st Year Professional

Wanderers would like to express their thanks and appreciation for the efforts and commitment of all those leaving the club this summer and wish them well in their future careers.

Read Time: 3 mins