Rico and Traff named in PFA League One Team Of The Year

James Trafford Ricardo Almeida Santos PFA

Congratulations to Ricardo Almeida Santos and former Wanderers goalkeeper, James Trafford, who have both been named in the PFA League One Team of the Year. 

Both were integral to Wanderers' success in 2022/23, as Ian Evatt's side made further progress on-the-field by making the Sky Bet League One Play-Offs, narrowly edged out by Barnsley in the Semi Final. 

Santos led Wanderers' backline superbly, whilst Trafford - now of Burnley after a summer move - played 52 games in all competitions for the Whites last year, impressing immensely. 

The PFA Team of the Year for League One is as follows:

  • Goalkeeper: James Trafford (Bolton Wanderers)
  • Defender: Leif Davis (Ipswich Town)
  • Defender: Bali Mumba (Plymouth Argyle)
  • Defender: Ricardo Almeida Santos (Bolton Wanderers)
  • Defender: Mads Andersen (Barnsley)
  • Midfielder: Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday)
  • Midfielder: Sam Morsy (Ipswich Town)
  • Midfielder: Luca Connell (Barnsley)
  • Forward: Conor Chaplin (Ipswich Town)
  • Forward: Jonson Clarke-Harris (Peterborough United)
  • Forward: David McGoldrick (Derby County)
Read Time: 1 mins